The city of Sakarya, one of the most important cities in Turkey for its rapid growth and development, is also attention worthy for its natural beauties and cultural richness.

It is one of the paradise-like spots of the country with its sea, beaches, lakes, rivers, highlands, thermal springs along with traditional Ottoman lifestyle districts such as Taraklı and Geyve, and historical relics inherited from the Byzantine and Ottoman eras that are worth witnessing.

After the Turks conquered the city of Sakarya in XIII. century, there has been intensive immigration from the Caucasia and Balkans in the XVIII. and XIX. centuries. With the last massive immigration of the century in 1989, our relatives arrived in the city having migrated from Bulgaria.

Thanks to the developing industry and the city being at the crossroads of transportation, the city still receives domestic migration today. Sakarya is the shining star of the Marmara Region where it is not a distant possibility that one million people are going to reside in near future.

The city of Sakarya is surrounded with the city of Düzce in the East, Bolu in the South East, Bilecik in the South, Kocaeli in the West and the Black Sea in the North. The city of Sakarya has 16 disrtricts which are; Adapazarı, Akyazı, Arifiye, Erenler, Ferizli, Geyve, Hendek, Karapürçek, Karasu, Kaynarca, Kocaali, Pamukova, Sapanca, Serdivan, Söğütlü and Taraklı.


Sakarya is located at the intersection of all the important roads and railways. The D-100 (E-5) highway which has an important role on domestic and international transportation and passes through the city East-ward all along together with TEM highway and the D-25 highway in the direction of Bilecik are the main transportation axis of the city. Kınalı-İstanbul-Sakarya-Ankara highway which originates from Edirne has an important role in an international scale. In Kınalı, one branch of the highway is connected to Greece while the other branch is connected to Bulgaria. These are the distances to some of the main cities from Sakarya: 797 km to Adana, 583 km to Antalya, 102 km to Bilecik, 158 km to Bursa, 188 km to Eskişehir, 148 km to İstanbul, 933 km to Trabzon, 306 km to Ankara, 114 km to Bolu, 486 km to İzmir, 79 km to Düzce, 708 km to Muğla, 179 km to Zonguldak and 37 km to Kocaeli.

There are 7 railway stations throughout a 65 km railway inside the city limits. The railway which connects Istanbul to Ankara and other Anatolian cities passes through Sakarya. The distance of Sakarya to Istanbul by railway is 141 km and 436 km to Ankara.

If you prefer to travel to Adapazarı by air, the nearest airport is the Sabiha Gökçen Airport in Kurtköy – Istanbul and Istanbul Atatürk Airport in Yeşilköy.

The City of Sakarya

Adapazarı was a village named “Ada” in 1573, a sub-district in 1646, a village inside Akyazı in 1658, administrative district of a qadi in 1692, and again a sub-district in 1742. The residency area had the status of a district for 117 years between 1837 – 1954 during the Ottoman and Republican eras. Adapazarı, being a district of Kocaeli for many years, separated from Kocaeli and took the name “Sakarya” in June 22, 1954 by the law number 6419. After Adapazarı took the name Sakarya as being the center of the districts Akyazı, Geyve, Hendek and Karasu, in December 1, 1954 the first governor Nazım Üner began active duty with ceremonies.

Sakarya Metropolitan Municipality

While Adapazarı was experiencing a rapid growth and great development in the center of Akova, the city had to face a great destruction during the great Marmara Earthquake in August 17, 1999. 3891 residents lost their lives while 26551 buildings collapsed and almost 100000 people were left homeless. The city was trying to be re-born from its ashes with the help of state/people collaboration when Adapazarı Municipality which was founded in 1868 gained the status of Metropolitan Municipality in March 6, 2000 by publication of the council of the ministers’ enactment number 593 on the Official Journal. Already present Adapazarı Mayor Aziz Duran was brought to Adapazarı Metropolitan Mayor Office. With the legal amendments made in 2004 and 2008 the range and service area of the Metropolitan Municipality were extended. In 2008 legislation was passed to change the name of Adapazarı Metropolitan Municipality to Sakarya Metropolitan Municipality to prevent confusion. Sakarya Metropolitan Municipality is in service with its 16 districts and more than 870000 people. On March 6, 2000 with the passing of the council of ministers’ enactment number 593 published on the Official Journal;

-Ferizli Municipality
-Söğütlü Municipality

By the execution of Metropolitan Municipality Law number 5216 on July 23, 2004;
-Akyazı Municipality
-Karapürçek Municipality
-Hendek Municipality
-Sapanca Municipality

By the publication of “Law concerning foundation of districts inside the metropolitan municipality and making alterations on some laws” with the date March 6, 2008 and number 5747 on the Official Journal number 26824 on March 22, 2008;

-Adapazarı Municipality
-Arifiye Municipality
- Erenler Municipality
-Serdivan Municipality

And with the passing of the law number 6360 and the date of December 6, 2012;
-Geyve Municipality
-Karasu Municipality
-Kaynarca Municipality
-Kocaali Municipality
-Pamukova Municipality
-Taraklı Municipality

Have all joined the boundaries of Sakarya Metropolitan Municipality.